Win Some, Lose Some

Highs and lows, highs and lows. Things come, things go. It happens. Roll with the punches, celebrate the highs, etc etc.

I’ve been saying it a lot lately… A LOT… but, cast your net wide, and you just might catch a fish or two.

A fish or two. Not all. I wouldn’t know what to do if I caught ALL of them.

But there’s still a sense of disappointment that comes with not catching them all, even if I already know that that is not the goal.

Lately, it’s been a toss-up; some things that I thought had my name written all over them wound up not coming to fruition, which is just fine, though the disappointment persists. And yet, there has been some good sprinkled in, too.

It’s been a very packed week, given that it’s Spring Break and supposedly a calmer week than usual. I’ve been accepted into one summer program, placed at the top of the alternate list for another, and rejected from three, all while two more applications are currently pulled up on my laptop screen and I’m still waiting to hear back from almost 20 more programs.

Or maybe, just maybe, I’m overreacting to the email we got from one of my advisors about how tough it is to get a residency spot these days, in all specialties (even the “uncompetitive” ones). Maybe, just maybe, that one little email has elevated my anxiety for no good reason. Either way, it’s still toying with my confidence, and I am not a fan of that.

Leave a comment