Better Days Ahead

I’ve been an awful blogger lately. I don’t think I’ve posted anything in ~a month. Horrible! Granted, there are plenty of drafts I need to finish, but that’s still pretty awful. Oh well. If I wasn’t busy living life, I wouldn’t have anything to blog about!

Yesterday was an end of an era. Oh happy day! I’m so excited that this particular period of my life is over and behind me now!

I start a new job on Monday! =)  Same sort of work, but different department, different building, new people… I’m excited!

If someone would have told me what I was really getting myself into a year ago, I might have changed my mind and stayed at the pharmaceutical company. I really miss those people and all the fun we had there. There, work was fun. I never spent weeks of time alone and deserted, and I wasn’t routinely left to do the work of three people. At the time, I thought I missed research. So when we were in a pickle and I was offered the job in research, I jumped on the chance. I wish I would have taken more time to really think it over. The job turned out to be nothing like what I expected. Research to me means journal club meetings, cooperative projects, WIP meetings, actually getting to use my brain and have my ideas considered, group lunches discussing ideas…. that, to me, is what research really is. Not beating your workhorse to death.

Push finally came to shove. And of course, God always provides when He is needed and the time is right. And, be careful what you wish for, you just might get it!

There was one day in particular that was especially rough. After a meeting, I came back to my desk utterly defeated for the day. I plunked down in my seat, put my head in my hands, and fought the urge to cry. “God, could you please give me a new job?” I thought to myself.

Immediately after, my phone buzzed at me.

An email.

For an interview less than 48 hours in the future.

Less than a week later, I had an offer and a start date.

God really does answers prayers. Sometimes, all you have to do is ask!

(Side note: Sometimes I do not understand how people can not believe in God; but how on earth could I ever deny Him, when He has been present like this in so many instances, in so many ways, in my own life?)

I am beyond thankful that God has put such a loving man into my life. Poor David has not been spared the brunt of my complaining over the past year, and I’m positive that anyone else would have just told me to shut up a long time ago, but not David. He is probably even more relieved than I am that I am finally moving on to something different (and, hopefully, a much more pleasant environment!).

This week has been a quick one; my last day was supposed to be today, but things happened in such a way that I needed to have all of my loose ends tied up by yesterday morning, so I am off today! It has been wonderful, and I even got some good news this morning that had me doing my Happy Dance all around the apartment. This bodes well for greater things to come!

Now that things have settled down a bit, maybe I will finally have some time to finish all my blogs-in-waiting; so be on the lookout for a flurry of posts from me!

Leave a Reply

