Nothing New Under the Sun

Ecclesiastes 1:9: What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again; there is nothing new under the sun.

A few weeks ago, I started taking a new footpath into work. This one winds between buildings, blocking out the wind, rain, and (eventually this winter) the snow. It’s also well-lit, for those unfortunate nights that I don’t get off work until well after the sun has set.

Part of this little jaunt is through the grass. I thought I was so clever, finding this quicker route (I now do not have to wait at two crosswalks anymore!)… until I saw it. It was faint, but it was there. I am not the first to use this little shortcut. There is a slight path trodden in the grass.

Or, there was.

Imagine my surprise after my first week of using this shortcut, after using it to come into work, and 9 hours later coming out of work to find… that it has been paved. I couldn’t help but laugh.

Lately, there have been thoughts of loneliness. Of uncertainty. Of having to forge my own way and not really knowing what in the heck I am doing. Of wanting guidance. So while I am waning philosophical in my head contemplating these things on the solitary walk to and from work each day, I was comforted by the fact that I am never truly alone. Someone has done this before. Someone has gone before me. I am not the first, and I will not be the last. It took a shortcut to remind me of that.

Leave a Reply

