The New Job

To my intense excitement, I started a new job in August, in a new department. I am now in Nephrology, transferring from Hem/Onc.

There are so many fewer frustrations. There are almost NO headaches anymore (there for a few months earlier this year I was having one every single day at 2pm, if not before–not to mention the migraines.). I’m no longer alone all day. I no longer have stress so bad that my back knots up. I work my 40 hours and then I’m done, no more of this “comp time” nonsense. I love my boss, T. He asks regularly if I’m happy, because he likes a “happy lab.” I laugh at work. I have friends at work. I get to go to seminars and learn something new. I get to participate as a team. My workload is reasonable. When I need a day off for an emergency, it’s no problem (I missed two friends’ weddings because of the previous job; and when there was an emergency, I was required to come in anyway, even when I had no means to do so.). At this job, I actually get to participate in researchwho knew that was a novel idea! When I already have skills, I get to showcase them and take the lead on projects. When I have ideas, they are acknowledged and I feel valued. When I do something well, I actually get a “thank you” and “good job!”

In short, I love this new job!

I’m also learning a lot of new techniques. I don’t do nearly as much cell culture or qPCR anymore, but I’ve learned sectioning on the vibratome and the microcryotome, as well as different staining techniques. I’m also getting very good with the Olympus2 microscope system. We’ve also started Laser-Capture Microscopy (LCM) and Flow Cytometry, which are both new to me. I’m gaining expertise in survival surgery and I’ve had my suturing skills praised. (“You should be a surgeon,” says T (he’s an MD); of course I’m good at suturing, have you seen the magic my grandmother can work with crochet hooks? It’s totally in my blood!) =)

My biggest challenge so far, though, has been teaching. I’ve had a difficult trainee, so I’ve had to battle some of my own habits. When I get frustrated, I’ve noticed that I say things curtly which makes my words sound condescending, which is not what I intended… and I don’t like that aspect about my habits very much, so I have tried to change. It’s gotten so much better now that I know more about how to get through to this person based on his/her learning style. I’ve tutored before and helped other peers during college, but this was quite the struggle for me. Knowing that teaching is tenet of medicine, I knew that I needed to start cultivating better teaching skills now.

“See one, do one, teach one! Your turn next!” I will never forget Dr. M. for that quip in my first hospital nursery. I’m fairly certain I’ve been preparing myself every day since then.

So the new job is wonderful; I’m so much happier in general now. I should have done this so long ago! God will always provide!

Leave a Reply

