Mini Marathon Training: Slow and Steady Wins the Race?

We are running the Derby City Mini Marathon on April 27th in Louisville, KY, which means that as of last Saturday, there are only 8 weeks to go!

This winter has not been kind to me. Early into the New Year, I left for work earlier than usual one morning since I had a time slot on the scope, and on my way out to the car I didn’t see the thin sheet of ice that graced the parking lot. I slipped and landed really hard. I’m sure it was hilarious to watch, but I wasn’t laughing at the time. It’s been hurting to do anything but stand, and it still hurts now, almost two months later–so I’m thinking maybe I fractured my tailbone after all. That’s been one of the barriers to my training.

Also, there for a few weeks, I kept getting sick. Sinus infections, colds, migraines. Ewwww. But no flu, thank goodness. Once I finally started to feel well again, I gave blood (after having to cancel three appointments due to being sick)–which meant another week of no strenuous exercise.

This past week, I had been working later and longer; and it’s been raining/snowing all week. This did not help my training schedule either–I refuse to join a ridiculously expensive gym, and I’m not a fan of running in the dark alone. I’m tired of the excuses to NOT go train. So yesterday I chose to quit making excuses and start training.  10.85 miles later, and I feel amazing! (Even though I am a little sore, and even though I have a LONG way to go.) Not to mention, this was my farthest run/walk/jog ever, consecutively anyway. My plan is to continue longer runs on the weekend, and I’m hoping to run/walk/jog the full 13.1 every weekend in April leading up to the big day.

Lessons learned: 1) I need new insoles. My dogs are barking! 2) I need a longer playlist!

I never, ever should have stopped running after high school. This would be so much easier if I hadn’t have been so lazy! I can definitely tell that I am not 18 anymore! Hopefully this will be a lifestyle change; both of my med schools have wonderful workout facilities for students that helps us to gauge our overall fitness as we go through school.  So maybe, hopefully, I can squeeze in a run before lunch every day. I guess we’ll see.

The great thing about mini marathon training? Also getting myself into shape for our summer hiking! I am so looking forward to this! Once the mini marathon is over, and our hiking trip, I hope I am toned and slimmer (hello bridesmaid dress in September!) For now though, I’m happy to have finally started getting back to being healthy and working out.

I also found this nifty little charity: Medals4Mettle, with its HQ here in Indianapolis. Runners donate their medals from half and full marathons, and they go to children with cancer. How cool is that?

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.  Ephesians 5:15-16

Leave a Reply

