Overwhelmed: Part Deux

This week has gone nothing like what I had planned. Am I surprised? No, not really. I finally gave my official notice at work, which makes me unbelievably sad. Although, that part hasn’t been too bad, just busier than normal.

I really should learn to just keep my mouth shut, or quit writing about it; but no, I’m far too stubborn. I thought I was overwhelmed during the first part of the week, but now… It’s worse, and only partially my own fault.

I had an appointment last week that was supposed to be a quick, one-and-done deal. No such luck. It did not go as planned–imagine that–and had to be rescheduled for this Thursday morning. Lovely.

I finally, finally made my physical appointment for school, after several weeks of going ‘Round-and-’round with employee Healy over paperwork. Last week, the new faculty and staff clinic opened on campus. Now, armed with my paperwork, I visited the clinic for what should have been a one-and-done visit, resulting in my paperwork being delivered on time to school.

No such luck.

I needed a titre drawn, and apparently they were not equipped to perform this simple procedure. So, I need to go to a lab for a blood draw that may take several days to produce results.

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot.

I was beyond livid. Having to schedule yet another appointment when I’m going out of town, and needing to have it done soon enough to turn around and mail it in before I’m gone for 17 days pushed me over the edge from being mad to being downright angry.

Which, wouldn’t you know, prompted me to turn on the radio and immediately get slapped win something far more wise than myself.

Building 429’s song “We won’t be shaken”:

Whatever will come our way
Through fire or pouring rain
We won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken
Whatever tomorrow brings
Together will rise and sing
We won’t be shaken
No we won’t be shaken
Oooh ooh oh
Oooh ooh oh
Oooh ooh oh
No we won’t be shaken

Oh, I have so much more to learn. It really was just an annoyance, nothing more–and I shouldn’t have been so agitated.

Luckily for me, the lab was close to home, and I met them at the front door when they opened at 6:30am. So this morning I had blood drawn for two different appointments in two different settings for two totally different reasons.

And now we are finally on the road. I’m not sure how much more of this I can take.

Leave a Reply

