Detour

Did you know that the route from Indianapolis to Chicago passes through Des Moines?

Neither did I.

I wasn’t exaggerating when I said this week hasn’t gone as planned. We’d been planning a long weekend in Chicago for months, since I hadn’t been since the sixth grade (besides a layover in O’hare on my way home from London), and David hadn’t been since a job in 2005. We were past due.

But lo and behold, we needed to make a “quick” trip to Des Moines; we learned this maybe 48 hours beforehand. So it was either cancel the already-paid-for Chicago trip, or take the extra day off work and leave after my appointment. The decision had to be made quickly, and it was a complete nightmare having to squeeze in everything in such short notice… And then having to schedule the physical and 6am blood draw only added to my stress.

Thankfully, everything went smoothly. Almost too smoothly. However, it’s done, we’re in Chicago, and I am dog-tired. All I want to do is sleep and be well-rested for a fun-filled day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

