Post-Exam Week

We took our last exam of the week yesterday. I am so glad that it is over and we get a bit of a reprieve. I now know what habits I need to change and which ones I need to keep. And overall, I’m passing! My night consisted of ice cream, movies, and lots of sleep… exciting, I know. Tonight is also filled with sleep and a chapter or two of A Dance with Dragons. (Although, at one point last night, without anything to study, I was almost… bored.)

But hey–some good news:

I mentioned before that I had an essay accepted for publication. I just received word early yesterday morning that my essay is also first runner-up for the annual Dr. Selzer Prize in Writing, which is pretty cool! Not bad for a first attempt! Maybe someday, if I ever have free time and the motivation, I’ll be able to write some more essays and submit more broadly. Maybe.

Yesterday was also the 12th anniversary of 9/11. I still get choked up about it when I see footage on the news. I still can’t watch it without crying, especially when it gets to the part that I first saw on that day. It also made me remember just how far I’ve come since that day. I remember feeling like the world just stopped that day, and I wondered if and when anything would feel normal. Life has changed so much since then, and yet it still feels like such a fresh wound.

I have been so scatterbrained this week. And there for a few days, I’ve basically been living in the library. It was nice to avoid the library all day today. I am looking forward to being a part of society again for a few days now that the exams are out of the way. This weekend, we move into our new place! I am especially excited about that, now that I actually have the time to think about it.

Leave a Reply

