Grateful

Oh, Thanksgiving break. I have needed this break so much!

The semester is finally winding down and that means… crunch time! I’ve been a bit overwhelmed anyway with head and neck (my LEAST favorite thing to dissect…), so a break was welcomed.

I got to see my family, including my in-laws, without having to rush off. I got to spend some quality time with my husband. The tree (even though it’s small) is put up. The laundry is caught up, as are the dishes (score!). And of course, study time. Study, study, study time.

I am not ready to forfeit my time off just yet. I could use a few more days to prep before we get the last bits of info we have to know for the exams (one this week, a paper this week, and four exams next week).

But, I am so grateful. For time off, for some sleep, for quality time with friends and family, for just being HOME. If someone would have told me last year about all the things that would have happened by this point, I would have been in disbelief. I’m so thankful that I didn’t have to drive all the way home from Iowa to celebrate with family. I’m so glad things are settling into a “normal”. And I’m so glad that things seem to be getting better with each passing day. Thanksgiving is hard for me because four years ago, we lost my grandmother around this time. It’s hard to imagine that it’s already been four years since then.

And now… back to cranial nerves. It’ll all be over in 13 more days. (And I will never have to dissect again!)

2 thoughts on “Grateful

Leave a Reply

