Returned to Life

This little blog of mine has been quiet lately… for far too long. But not without good reason.

I have felt more like a med school zombie robot in the past few weeks than I have felt like an actual person. We’ve had neuro exams, an ICM humanism project and exam, our final ICM clinical exam, the last few gross anatomy labs, our last embryology presentation, and… *gulp*… FINALS.

Not to mention keeping up with volunteering, being a research assistant, HEART meetings, and fundraising for Ecuador and St. Baldrick’s.

I’ve been exhausted.

And then, in the middle of all this, I got blindsided with the stomach flu. For two straight days I thought I was dying. Which resulted in having to push back a couple of my finals.

For the record, I passed all my classes! I am so thankful that I never have to dissect again! Dissecting is just not my forte.

In the few days that I’ve been on break, I’ve done a lot of sleeping, Christmas shopping, seeing friends, and in general being glad to be part of the world again. David and I took a short trip to a little winery I know just south of Louisville, and I felt like I was on a great escape because, for the first time in months, I was outside my general home-school-hospital route. Who knew that being just a few miles outside of the daily route could feel so much like an adventure?!

Someday soon I’ll post about what all I have learned during my first semester. But for now, this should suffice as proof that school did not kill me in the first semester, and I did in fact make it out alive!

Leave a Reply

