Break? What Break?

Here we are, Day 1 of Semester 2.

Where did my break go?!

Break was wonderful. I loved sleeping in until almost 10am nearly every day (granted, I never sleep through the night anymore), and taking naps whenever I needed them. It seems like I spent a lot of time sleeping, mostly because I still didn’t feel well. David and I did get to have a lot of time together, and we got to spend time with (long-lost) friends. We saw three movies over break: Anchorman 2 (not as funny as I’d hoped), The Hobbit 2 (really good), and Hunger Games: Catching Fire (also good).

One night, I treated David to a dinner to actually celebrate his graduation at Eddie Merlot’s in downtown Louisville. We’d never been before, but this place is exquisite. Dinner was wonderful, and I can’t wait to go back when I can sample some of their wine selections. The calamari was the best I’d had.

Who could forget the holidays? For Christmas Eve, my mom made a wonderful meal and invited my in-laws over. We stayed the night with my parents, and the next morning had Christmas with them, my brother, and my grandma and great aunt. We didn’t get much downtime since mom was also hosting her side’s Christmas dinner. We were so busy that I didn’t get a chance to take a nap or rest, so I spent the night miserable, unable to sleep. Even though “home” is only a few miles away, I really needed the visit to see everyone. I feel like I’ve missed so much because I’ve been completely consumed with school.

David and I also celebrated our fourth anniversary over break. I don’t even remember what life was like before David, but I’m still sure that the best is yet to come!

For New Year’s, we went over to our good friends’ house, with a nacho bar, ice cream sundae bar, and a long game of Apples to Apples before the ball dropped. We hadn’t seen E&S in a long time (my fault), so it was good to catch up and not be in a rush.

Cincinnati
Cincinnati

My cabin fever was getting the best of me, so we took a short day trip to Cincinnati. Other than the few trips we’ve made to Jungle Jim’s in the past couple of years, we hadn’t been to Cincy just for fun since before we were engaged. We went to an old favorite restaurant there, Bar Louie, walked the Purple People Bridge, and then went over to Jungle Jim’s. We couldn’t help but stop by Graeter’s Ice Cream before we came home. It was a very nice daytrip. (In speaking of trips, after seeing all my classmates’ posts about going home to California and the first thing they do is take a trip to In ‘N Out, it’s been added to the list of things to do whenever we finally mark that state off our list.)

We took one more short trip to Columbus to visit with friends I hadn’t seen since before we moved home. One of their favorite things of mine is my Black Russian cake, so I made one to take with us. It wasn’t until I was getting together the ingredients that I realized I couldn’t have any because the alcohol doesn’t bake out of it or the icing. It was almost cruel and unusual punishment to have to bake it and hold it on the drive up there.

My Black Russian cake... YUM!
My Black Russian cake… YUM!

I am not ready to put away the Christmas tree or take down the pretty lights. The world just feels like a better place when there are twinkly lights.

Reading for fun has taken a backseat to more important things. My favorite hobby is now more of a chore. Since I spend so much time sitting and reading during the semester, the last thing I wanted to do on break was to do more reading. Although, I did finally finish A Dance with Dragons, the 5th Game of Thrones book.

I am not ready for my classmates to ask about the pregnancy–I’m not ready for my abdomen to be a spectacle. I’ve already had two negative comments made about it; the first was a nurse who told me I needed a psych eval for having a baby during med school, and the other was my grandma, telling me I’m fat. Gee, thanks…it’s not like I’m growing a brand-new person. I’m sure there will be others made, but having this baby now is a blessing no matter what anyone else thinks. This little one does not change any of my academic or career plans or ambitions.

Break wasn’t all fun and games, though. I did have three shifts in the ED, one shift in the NICU (spending too many days in a row in the NICU makes you forget that babies can be born completely healthy), researched a few residency programs, flipped through First Aid for the USMLE Step 1, ordered books for this semester, and continued working on a few projects for summer.

Usually, I make a few New Year’s resolutions, but this year they just kinda slipped past me. My general resolutions are to run in a few more races and continue to slim down… but those are on hold until I’m postpartum. The only other goals I have for this semester are to get a few more essays published (I’ve got my eye on three different journals and magazines), be accepted into one of the Distinction Tracks, and continue to do well in classes.

And it totally figures that the only day that it snows while I’m on break… is today, while I’m at home, studying. On the bright side, there’s only 9 more weeks until Spring Break!

Leave a Reply

