Summer Plans

Friday was Match Day 2014, where MS4’s find out where they will do their intern year/residency for training after medical school as newly-minted physicians. This was the first year in the past three where I haven’t spent it with MS4s and shared in on the excitement; I really missed being able to share that with my upperclassmen, but we had two graded in-class assignments that day… *sigh* It never ends.

I cannot wait for my own Match Day in 3 years. It’s blowing my mind that we have only 8 more weeks of this academic year before my last summer free. This year, although has seemed long, is wrapping up very quickly.

And now, for the good news. A summer program that I applied for finally emailed me back with an answer I was hoping for: I’ve been accepted, AND I “matched” into my first choice! After everything I’ve been through lately, I think I’ve finally made up my mind about what I want to do with my summer with all of the acceptances I’ve received. My school runs a summer program that is fairly unique, called a Pediatric Externship that is conducted by the Department of Pediatrics. We had to fill out an application (with essays) and rank 11 different departments. The selected students spend 4 weeks acting as a part of the medical team with patients, learning how to present on rounds, practice taking H&Ps and writing SOAP notes with attendings’ inputs. There was a lot more interest in this program for this summer than in years past, so it wasn’t a given that those who applied would even get a spot, let alone one of their top choices. I ranked Neonatology, Heme/Onc, and Infectious Disease as my top three. It now looks like I’ll be spending the first month of my summer with the babies in the NICU! I am so excited! This way, I can have some fun and do something that I want to do (while doing something useful for my CV), and still have plenty of time to relax on summer break before the baby arrives.

There are so many days where I feel overwhelmed, stressed, and like I’m barely staying afloat… and then there’s the days where I feel like I’m competent and things just might work out the way I hoped they would. Sometimes it’s hard to keep the bigger picture in focus. Now that I have some clinical experience to look forward to, that is directly aligned with my career and research goals, I get a second wind and am reminded why I signed up for this in the first place.

2 thoughts on “Summer Plans

Leave a Reply

