Bed Rest

What’s the easiest way to make a Type A workaholic frustrated?

Put her on bed rest.

As our Ladybug’s due date approaches, I’ve been trying to acknowledge my limitations and take things easy when I need to. It seems that my body has met its match with this little lady on board. So now we are on Baby Watch and I am confined to strict bed rest.

Which means my summer plans are kaput. No Pediatric Externship in the NICU for me, despite my efforts to somehow still participate. I am so disappointed; that was the one thing I was going to do for myself this summer to have a little fun while we waited for Ladybug to make her debut. The one thing I didn’t want to do this summer was twiddle my thumbs while we waited for her arrival. Apparently, Ladybug takes after her momma and is incredibly impatient; every time we give her a due date, she decides it’s not soon enough. The goal is to hold out for a few more days.

That being said, I am bored out of my mind. Why is there nothing on television worth watching during the day, even if just for background noise?! (Thank you, reruns of Grey’s, House, and How I Met Your Mother for providing some semblance of entertainment.) But since I can’t just lay here all day, I’ve been trying to get some things done that don’t require much energy output. I’ve read through a few chapters of First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 to pick out my review books so I can make a budget; worked on a lit search for my global health track scholarly project; edited my manuscript now that I have feedback from the NSRF; submitted abstracts to two more conferences; looked into flights from here to Atlanta for October so I can budget; scoured the internet for Step 1 study schedules; wrote a few articles; helped a friend apartment hunt; packed my hospital bag, and pretty much anything else I can think of to be somewhat productive.

This pregnancy is really weighing heavily on me now, physically, mentally, emotionally, and even at times, spiritually. This has not been the best experience, which sounds inexcusably selfish. I cannot wait to be able to do everyday little things again. I would love to be able to wear my favorite clothes (right now I’d settle for finding clothes that actually fit), to give myself a pedicure, to go for a run if I feel like it. Anything at all to make me feel like myself instead of like a beached whale. I don’t remember the last time I felt thin, pretty, or just like me. I cannot wait to hold our little girl, to count her fingers and toes, to kiss her chubby cheeks and to show her the world. Her daddy is more than ready too. Come on, Ladybug! Aren’t you ready to come out and play?

So here I am, day 6 of bed rest, and I’m running out of things to do.

One thought on “Bed Rest

  1. My family genetics are to swell up like sponges when pregnant. All of your voiced complaints are similar to my sister’s when she was pregnant with my now 2 year-old nephew. She said she didn’t get maternity pictures because it wasn’t like she felt the prettiest when she was preggo.

    With that being said, I hope the L&D go smoothly and you get to greet your baby girl with many Xs & Os. Me? I am content just being an aunt for now ;).

Leave a Reply

