The Aftermath of Block 1

220 questions. Roughly five hours of testing, with only a total of 1/2 hour of break time. 160-ish students in one large lecture hall.

That was my Friday.

index

I lost count of how many hours I spent studying this week. I spent every day (except for Monday–the holiday) in the library surrounded by books. So far in my medical school career, I have avoided looking like the picture above. This week was different though. This week, I most definitely looked like that.

I was so worried right before the exam(s). I didn’t feel like I knew the drugs in pharm well enough. We had four separate exams, 50 or so questions each, and a little over an hour to do each one. Then we got an optional ten minute break in between. I used all of my breaks to catch my breath, grab a drink, and focus before the next set. This was definitely a different setup from what I’m used to (I’m used to knowing my score right after I submit my exam–but since each set was a mix of micro/pharm/path/TBL, there was no way to gauge how well I was doing on each section).

It actually went by pretty quickly. Since I was done and had nothing to study earlier than usual, I left campus and picked up Ladybug at daycare early, and had a mommy-and-daughter afternoon.

Early in the afternoon, we were notified that the scores were all in and posted. I’m quite pleased. There’s still room for improvement, and I do plan on adjusting my study habits a bit, but overall, this first block exam wasn’t too bad.

Today, then, was a Saturday where I had absolutely NOTHING to study. It’s been a welcome change! The day was spent catching up on other projects and lots of hugs/cuddles/smiles/laughs with the little one. Such a good day! I could definitely get used to this!

In other news….I got to meet with my new Advisory Dean. We are assigned an Advisory Dean when they sort us into Colleges (akin to Harry Potter’s Sorting Hat) before first year. Mine took a job in a new state, so I got a new one… and it’s Dr. T! One of my absolute favorite people that I’ve met since starting med school.

Now that I’ve gotten a reprieve, be on the lookout for more exciting stuff from me! There are ongoing projects, and I hope to be able to share them soon. Still living the dream, even if this week of studying for Block 1 kinda sucked at times.

Leave a Reply

