Milestone

As I’ve mentioned before, at the end of second year, we take the first of our exams that allow us to be licensed physicians, the USMLE Step 1 exam. There isn’t a day that goes by where we don’t talk about it. But last night it became a lot more real. I submitted the first part of my application to be able to take Step 1 (and then promptly got nauseated!). There’s still more paperwork to finish and a latent period, but the first steps have been taken. It’s real now. I plan on taking the exam around the beginning of June, so I am 8 months away.

As far as school goes, though, second year has not been the nightmare I expected. Maybe I’m just used to the pace by now. (Maybe I’m doing better because I no longer have pregnancy brain?) Granted, we have an ICM block exam this Friday, and our second Block exam is next Friday. I’m hoping these go as well as the first one.

Leave a Reply

