When You Run Out of Stories to Tell

Silence. For months now. And not because there has been a lack of events, but merely because I believe my stories have left me for a time.

There is so much I want to say, but I cannot. Some stories are too heartbreaking, and lately, I’ve witnessed a lot of those kinds of stories. HIPPA is a wonderful thing, but there needs to be an outlet for when we need to talk about the things we see, the things we experience with patients that take up such a large part of our day, that integrate into ourselves, that we carry along with us.

I’ve found myself longing for many things in the past few weeks. I am not one to say that I want things, at least, not physical things. But now, I want. I want to be able to talk about the things that are traumatic that make me need an outlet.

However, those stories can do harm. Harm to those that don’t understand. Harm to those that listen. Harm to me in reliving the details.

There are so many stories to tell. Some are just not mine to share.

Leave a Reply

