Pediatric Pathology 

For the past two weeks I’ve been on a pediatric pathology rotation.


I had no idea just how much I have forgotten about histology slides since the first semester of med school.

Simple, cuboidal, squamous, stratified. Ciliated. Eosinophils, neutrophils, H&E stain. So much specific terminology, ways of describing the sectioned specimens under the microscope.

The first thing I did on my first day was look at slides of placental tissue. Then I realized… I have no clue what exactly it is that I am looking at, or even looking for. 😦 

The umbilical cord sections were easy. Normal three vessel (one vein, two arteries) and even one two vessel (one artery) cord. That much I knew. But the other slides?? Totally no clue. That’s when I realized that in histo and path in first and second years that I’ve never actually looked at placental tissue before.

It’s been pretty cool so far, being on pathology. I’ve gotten to section placentas by myself, evaluate kidney biopsy samples, perform an autopsy, and went to neonatology M&Ms. There is so much to learn in medicine, there’s no wonder they make us pick a specialty because there is no way to know everything.

Leave a Reply

